Cooking Therapy

Ok, so today I spent at least five hours doing one of my favorite things: cooking. I like to spend time on Sundays preparing meals for the week, but haven’t been able to actually “cook” in a while. I took my time and put together breakfast and lunch items for the week. I’m one of those people that usually makes a few staples and builds around them. Dinner is usually a huge green salad with mixed veggies and nuts, olives, or avocado. I like to try new recipes, and usually end up modifying them. I also like simple recipes made from whole foods and ingredients I tend to have on hand.

Here’s what I made today:

Paleo Pumpkin Muffins

http://www.paleoplan.com/2009/12-03/paleo-pumpkin-muffins/

Image

These came out moist and delicious. I’m a sucker for pumpkin, and I don’t care that it’s Summer. I modified these by only adding 1 tablespoon of raw honey instead of the 1/4 cup the recipe calls for.

Banana Vanilla Bean Pancakes

http://paleomg.com/banana-vanilla-bean-pancakes-with-mixed-berry-compote/

Image

These pancakes are fabulous! My favorite vegan, gluten-free pancakes are made with oats so they’re off limits for the next few months. I’ll settle for these any day. I modified them by adding chopped raw almonds and using ground vanilla bean I had on hand instead of scraping a whole vanilla bean. I also skipped the compote and opted for raw organic blueberries instead.

Spinach Sweet Potato Egg Nests

http://paleomg.com/spinach-sweet-potato-egg-nests/

Image

These were fun to make. The recipe was already vegetarian, except for the bacon fat which I obviously didn’t use. I swapped it out for coconut oil and sauteed fresh organic baby spinach and half an onion instead of using the frozen spinach and onion powder. I’m excited to try these! I chose to make them because they’re portable and convenient. There’s also something about baked egg that is delish.

Vegan Cashew Cheese

http://www.sheknows.com/food-and-recipes/articles/1004407/easy-vegan-cashew-cheese-recipe

This came out yummy! I used half a lemon instead of the whole lemon, and skipped the lemon zest. Even still, it was a little much. I also added half a cup of fresh basil to the food processor with the other ingredients and used this to put on top of the lasagna I made. 🙂

Veggie Lasagna (from scratch)

Image

Vegan/Paleo Baba Ghanoush (not pictured)

http://paleodietlifestyle.com/baba-ghanoush/

This came out absolutely delicious! I roasted the eggplant whole over an open flame on my stove, and was blown away at how easy it was to peel after soaking it in cold water for a few minutes. The tahini was optional and although it is made from sesame seeds I decided to use it. I’m glad I did. Tahini along with roasted eggplant is what makes the dish. I’m planning on eating this with veggies or on top of my salads. Yum!

Leave a Reply

